German Class 101: Horse shoes are not Pferd Schuhe

Learning German is really hard. It is slow going and living in a place where people regularly insist they prefer to speak English over Hoch Deutsch, it is also rare to get to practice.

The best thing for practice, I’ve found, is interacting with people who don’t know much English or don’t like to speak it.  Getting out of Zurich, you can find more of opportunities.

A few weeks ago, I felt pretty happy because I had met Coquetta’s  Hufschmied  and scheduled her next appointment, in German.  So in the next class, I told our teacher about my accomplishment of the day, i.e., arranging for my Pferd to get neue Schuhe.

< teacher almost falls over laughing >

Well… apparently Pferde don’t wear Shoes here.  They get Hufeisen.  

At least I can provide some entertainment… and it was a good way to learn a new word, which I am unlikely to forget.

In fact, when I learn new words in a real-life situation I am way better at remembering them in the future, so I should probably just keep it up.  Plus, I found a picture of a pony wearing cute little shoes.

And, we ended up having a side lesson about shoe shopping in Switzerland and elsewhere, which, in my mind makes it Hausaufgaben!

7 responses to “German Class 101: Horse shoes are not Pferd Schuhe

  1. Pingback: 3 Seasons, 8 months | Aimee&Jo.ch·

  2. I see a lot of interesting posts on your website. You have to spend a lot of time writing,
    i know how to save you a lot of time, there is a tool that creates unique,
    SEO friendly articles in couple of seconds, just type in google – k2 unlimited content

  3. Thanks , I’ve just been looking for info about this subject for ages and yours is
    the greatest I’ve came upon till now. However, what about
    the bottom line? Are you positive about the supply?

  4. I read a lot of interesting posts here. Probably you spend a lot of
    time writing, i know how to save you a lot of work, there is an online tool
    that creates readable, SEO friendly articles in minutes, just
    type in google – k2seotips unlimited content

  5. You post very interesting articles here. Your blog
    deserves much more visitors. It can go viral if you give it
    initial boost, i know useful tool that can help you, simply type in google: svetsern traffic
    tips

Leave a Reply

